Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Structure and membership

REG members volunteer their time and come from rural, provincial and metropolitan local authorities, Local Government NZ, and the NZ Transport Agency. Membership revolves annually, and those wishing to be involved should contact us.

A governance group and a leadership group oversee the project; the Programme Manager is Andrew McKillop (NZ Transport Agency). Four subgroups develop and deliver the tools and resources needed to help Road Controlling Authorities (RCA) meet the requirements of the One Network Road Classification. A group of regional champions support (RCA) staff.

REG operating structure diagram [PDF, 98 KB]

Governance group

Jim Harland (NZTA) – Chair
Craig Thew (Hastings District Council)
Jim Palmer (Waimakariri District Council)
Malcolm Alexander (Local Government NZ)
Tony McCartney (Auckland Transport)
Niclas Johansson (NZTA)
Robert Brodnax (NZTA)

Leadership group

Jamie McPherson (Tasman District Council) – Chair
Chris Gregory (Christchurch City Council)
Dawn Inglis (Waipa District Council)
David Darwin (NZTA)
Dennis Lewis (Taupo District Council)
Garry McGraw (Northland Transport Alliance)
Rui Leitao (Whanganui District Council)
Susannah Ratahi (Timaru District Council)
Mark Yaxley (NZTA)
Martin Taylor (Whakatane District Council)

Group support

Bob Alkema (NZTA) – Director
Steven Finlay (LGNZ EQuiP) – Director
Andrew McKillop (NZTA) – Programme Manager
Megan Huber (NZTA) – Communications Advisor
Deborah Tribble (NZTA) – Administrator

One Network Road Classification (ONRC) work group

Susannah Ratahi (Timaru District Council) – Chair
Julie Muir (Central Otago District Council)
David Darwin (NZTA)
Mark Yaxley (NZTA)
Siri Rangamuwa (Auckland Transport)
Stuart Woods (NZTA)

Data work group

(L to R) Jeremy Hughes (Company-X), Michelle Cousins (NZTA),Cat O’Neill (NZTA), Dawn Inglis (RATA) – Chair, Gordon Hart (NZTA), Jag Pannu (Hastings District Council), Simon Fendall (NZTA), Tony Lange – (NZTA). Absent: Alison Tomlinson (Queenstown Lakes District Council)

Capability and Enabling work group

Martin Taylor (Whakatane District Council) – Chair
Adam Bevins (Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia)
Erik Barnes (Local Government NZ)
Lynley Hutton (NZTA)
Michael Jacobson (Christchurch City Council)
Sandra King (Palmerston North City Council)
Sarah Downs (NZTA)

Procurement work group

Rui Leitao (Whanganui District Council) – Chair
Bernie Cuttance (NZTA)
Jack Hansby (NZTA)
Phil Harrison (Civil Contractors NZ)
Jamie McPherson (Tasman District Council)
Chris Olsen (LGNZ Equip)
Shawn McKinley (Central Hawke's Bay District Council)
David Langford (New Plymouth District Council)

REG champions

Auckland/Northland Garry McGraw (Kaipara District Council)
Waikato Gordon Naidoo (South Waikato District Council)
Bay of Plenty Natalie Rooseboom (Tauranga City Council)
Gisborne/Hawke's Bay Shawn McKinley (Central Hawke's Bay District Council)
Central North Island/Taranaki Chris Chapman (Tararua Alliance)
Wellington Joe Hewitt (Wellington City Council)
Top of the South/West Coast Rhys Palmer (Nelson City Council)
Canterbury Yvonne Warnaar (Waimakariri District Council)
Otago/Southland Alison Tomlinson (Queenstown Lakes District Council)
Metro group Michael Jacobson (Christchurch City Council)