Skip to content

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Privacy Statement

The New Zealand Transport Agency is committed to protecting its customers' personal information. For you to get the most out of using the Choice App, we need to collect some personal information about you.  We want you to know that we will protect your personal information, and that we will only collect, use, store, and disclose it in accordance with the Privacy Act 1993.

This Privacy Statement explains:

  • what personal information is collected about you through the App
  • how your personal information will be used by us and our agents
  • who your personal information may be shared with
  • how and where your personal information will be stored
  • how you can access and change your personal information
  • how long we will hold your information

This Privacy Statement forms part of the App Terms and Conditions.  Your use of the App means that you accept and agree to this Privacy Statement and any changes or updates to it.  Sometimes we may ask you if we can collect more information or use your information in another way.  If we change or update this Privacy Statement, you will be required to resign into your account. At such time you will need to agree to the then current Terms and Conditions to continue using the App.   

What personal information is collected?

We collect personal information about you that you provide when you register to use the Choice App.  That information is:

  • your name
  • your email address
  • your mobile number

If you do not provide that information you will not be able to register to use the App. 

We also allow you to register to use the App with your Facebook account, in which case Facebook will ask your permission to share certain information from your Facebook account with us.  The information requested will include your name and email address.

Any other information that you provide to the App, either yourself or through Facebook, such as a profile picture or your preferred language, is stored locally on your device and cannot be accessed by us.  Information created through your use of the App, such as 'in progress' and past journey information, is also stored locally on your device. You can decide whether you would like to save your Recent Trips. Turning off "Save Recent Trips" at the App settings will delete any past trips from your profile. Alternatively, you can choose to delete individual trips by swiping right from the "Recent Trips" page.

If you want to add a profile picture of yourself on the App, you will need to allow the App to access the camera on your device.

How is my information used?

The personal information that we collect from you via the Choice App will be used to authenticate your account with us.  Your information may also be used to:

  • allow you to access products or services through the App (being in particular transport services)
  • allocate or offer you rewards, discounts, or other benefits, and to allow you to participate in loyalty programmes and other similar schemes
  • administer your account, and correspond with you if you want to provide feedback to us
  • undertake activities connected with the App, such as quality control, network monitoring, testing and maintenance of computer and other systems.

We will also collect anonymous and aggregated information about your use of the App (including visits to screen within the App and location information such as past journeys) and your device (including your IP address) so that we can analyse, evaluate, and improve the App. 

We may also collect and use information about your device, systems, and application software to provide software upgrades, product support.

Will my information be shared?

We may disclose the personal information that we collect about you as follows:

  •  we will need to give our employees, contractors, agents and advisers access to the information you provide us in order to authenticate your account and allow you to use the Choice App. This includes our providers that host or maintain data centres where your information is processed or stored, service platforms, and other infrastructure and systems on our behalf
  • we may need to disclose your personal information to people and organisations if you want to access products or services from the App, including that we may provide your name, phone number (if you have provided it) and location to transport service operators if you access their services through the App
  • as otherwise permitted by the Privacy Act 1993.

Otherwise, we generally do not share your information with others unless this is necessary for one of the purposes for which you gave us the information.  Occasionally, we may be required by law to disclose your information – for instance, to investigate a criminal offence, or there may be safety reasons for disclosing it.  We may also disclose your information to emergency services if we think that is necessary.  

How is my information stored and will it be protected?

We take your privacy seriously, and will take all reasonable steps to ensure that your personal information is stored in a secure environment and protected from unauthorised access, use, modification or disclosure.

The personal information that you provide to us is stored by our agent Auth0 in its datacentre in Sydney.  Your information is encrypted.

We will continue to store your information as long as your account is "active" or for 1 year after it has been considered “inactive”. Your account is considered to be "inactive" if you have not used your account for 1 year.

Your profile photo and language preferences as well as information on past journeys will only be stored on your device.  In order to ensure the continuity of any 'in progress' journeys can be recovered, the Choice App will temporarily bookmark your journey until it has been completed.  This information is also stored only on your device.

You should ensure that your device is kept safe and secure, so that information about you that is stored on the device can only be accessed by you.  If you register to use the App with your Facebook account, you are also responsible for ensuring that your Facebook account is kept safe and secure. 

Can I access my information?

You can see and access the personal information that we hold about you through the Choice App. 

It is your responsibility to ensure that the personal information you provide to us is accurate and up-to-date.  If your name, email address, or phone number changes, we ask that you update that information in the App.  You may correct any personal information that we hold about you by editing your profile in the App.

How long is my information held?

You may delete your profile at any time by deleting the Choice App from your device or by selecting "Delete Account?" from the App settings. Deleted or inactive accounts will correspondingly be deleted from our storage after 1 year.

If you choose to delete your profile or your account has been inactive for 1 year, you will need to create a new profile if you want to start using the App again.

Top