Find out about the land transport rules, operational policy and infrastructure projects we’ve previously consulted on. You’ll find the feedback we received and our next steps. 

Your privacy and disclosure

What we consult on

Archived consultations

Filter by:

SH1 Kāpiti Expressway speed limit review

Type: Land transport rule
Closing date: 20 May 2024

NZTA is proposing a new speed limit of 110km/h on the Kapiti Expressway, from north of the Poplar Avenue interchange to south of the Otahi northern interchange, under the Setting of Speed Limits Rule (2022). We’re seeking feedback from stakeholders and the community which we will review alongside our safety assessment before making a final decision.

Draft Investment Prioritisation Method (IPM) consultation

Type: NZTA policy
Closing date: 13 May 2024

Consultation on the updated Investment Prioritisation Method (IPM) for 2024-27. The IPM is used to prioritise bids for activities by Road Controlling Authorities (RCAs) in the upcoming 2024-27 National Land Transport Programme (NLTP).

SH35 Mangahauini Gorge

Type: NZTA project
Closing date: 3 May 2024

TREC sought feedback on a proposed resilience project in Tairāwhiti.

SH2 Devil’s Elbow, SH2/SH5 Eskdale resilience work

Type: NZTA project
Closing date: 16 April 2024

TREC sought feedback on proposed resilience projects in Hawke’s Bay.

Environmental incidents – new reporting and investigation process

Type: NZTA policy
Closing date: 15 April 2024

Waka Kotahi has developed a draft specification to report and investigate environmental incidents that occur during land transport system infrastructure projects.

SH6 Lowburn proposed new no stopping areas

Type: NZTA project
Closing date: 3 April 2024

Waka Kotahi is seeking feedback on proposed stopping/parking restrictions on both sides of SH6 at Lowburn.

Sustainable Public Transport Framework consultation

Type: NZTA policy
Closing date: 19 January 2024

Waka Kotahi sought feedback on a Partnering and Delivery Models discussion document developed by the Sustainable Public Transport Framework Working Group.