Call for nominations for New Zealand’s best cycling projects


Nominations are now open for the 2017 Bike to the Future Awards. The awards, organised by Cycling Action Network (CAN) and the NZ Transport Agency, celebrate the people and projects working tirelessly and innovatively to create a more cycle-friendly New Zealand so that more Kiwis can choose to get about by bike.

CAN spokesperson, Patrick Morgan, says there's no doubt that cycling is on the up.

“Bike sales are increasing, e-bikes are attracting new riders, and cycleways are being built at an unprecedented rate.

“The Bike to the Future Awards recognise the best new urban routes, off-road trails, projects and people that are working to make our communities safer and more bike-friendly,” says Mr Morgan.

Transport Agency National Cycling Manager Dougal List says cycling is becoming an increasingly popular as Kiwis begin to look to more personalised and efficient ways to get about their towns and cities.

“It’s fantastic to see the growing popularity of cycling across the country and to celebrate the people and projects that are helping to make this happen.

“Last year the Te Ara I Whiti (Lightpath) project team took out the Supreme Award for their unique and innovative design and the successful collaboration between multiple partners.  Following another busy year for cycling, it’s exciting to think of what project may come out on top this year,” says Mr List.

The awards ceremony this year will be held at a special dinner at the Asia Pacific Cycle Congress, to be held in Christchurch in October. 

“We are proud to be hosting the Cycle Congress in New Zealand this year. After several years of concentrated effort, we look forward to showcasing the wide range of innovative cycling projects and initiatives that are transforming cycling in New Zealand, on an international stage,” says Mr List.

If you know of a project or person that deserves recognition, you can nominate them at link). Self-nominations are also welcome.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 21 July.