Skip to content

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Cyclists urged to stay safe and be seen with shorter days
ahead

|

With the end of Daylight Saving, the NZ Transport Agency and NZ Police are urging cyclists to 'be bright' and be seen on the road this autumn.

The agencies kick off the Be Bright campaign this weekend, encouraging cyclists to make sure they have suitable lights on their bikes and always wear high-visibility clothing at dawn, dusk and in bad weather.

“One of the best ways for cyclists to improve their own safety is to wear high-visibility clothing and invest in good quality lights for both the front and rear of their bike,” says NZ Transport Agency (NZTA) safety director Ernst Zollner.

The campaign runs until 30 June and may include roadside checkpoints for cyclists, roving cycle-light ambassadors, competitions and giveaways on popular cycle commuting routes in Tauranga, Western Bay of Plenty, Auckland, Rotorua, Palmerston North, Wellington, Nelson, and Dunedin.

Police are urging motorists to be on the lookout for cyclists, especially when visibility is poor, around dusk, dawn and in bad weather.

“Drivers need to take extra care at these times to look for cyclists and cyclists need to take responsibility for their own safety by ensuring they can be seen and are riding safely for the conditions,” says National Road Policing Manager Superintendent Carey Griffiths.

Mr Zollner said the NZTA was concerned with the number of recent cycle fatalities and serious injuries.

“As we head into winter, we are reminding both motorists and cyclists of the importance of sharing the road. It’s especially important that drivers give cyclists plenty of room when passing – we recommend 1.5 metres.

“Safety is a shared responsibility for everyone who uses the road, and we need to make sure we look out for each other.”

For more information, please contact:

Andy Knackstedt
Media Manager
New Zealand Transport Agency
T. 04 894 6285
M. 021 276 3222
E. andrew.knackstedt@nzta.govt.nz

Notes to editors

Local Be Bright contacts

Focus areas Key contacts
Auckland region Deb Lang, Auckland Transport, debbie.lang@aucklandtransport.govt.nz
Wellington region (incl Wellington City and Kapiti Coast) Anna Blomquist, Wellington City Council
Anna.blomquist@wcc.govt.nz
Kapiti Coast
jane.pearson@kapiticoast.govt.nz
Simon Kennett, Greater Wellington Regional Council, simon.kennett@gw.govt.nz
Palmerston North Alane Nilsen, Horizon’s MW Regional Council
alane.nilsen@horizons.govt.nz
Suzanne Winterburn, Sport Manawatu, suzanne.winterburn@sportmanawatu.org.nz
Rotorua Niki Carling, Rotorua District Council
Niki.Carling@rdc.govt.nz
Tauranga Karen Smith, Tauranga City Council
karen.smith@tauranga.govt.nz
Bruce Galloway, Tauranga City Council, bruce.galloway@tcc.govt.nz
Nelson Margaret Parfitt, Nelson City Council, margaret.parfitt@ncc.govt.nz
Dunedin Charlotte Flaherty, Dunedin City Council
cflahert@dcc.govt.nz
NZ Police Trevor Pullen, NZ Police
trevor.pullen@police.govt.nz
Top