Skip to content

Access keys for

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Safe Vehicles Programme

The Safe Vehicles Programme, led by Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency, delivers on the Government’s Road to Zero strategy. The programme aims to raise awareness of vehicle safety ratings and significantly improve the safety performance of New Zealand’s light vehicle fleet.

Road to Zero(external link) outlines a strategy to guide improvements in road safety in New Zealand over the next 10 years. It sets out a vision of a New Zealand where no one is killed or seriously injured in a road crash and includes vehicle safety as one of five key priorities.

It’s important to remember that people make mistakes and some crashes are inevitable. Vehicles play a major role in keeping us safe on our roads. 

Most vehicles have a star safety rating from 1 to 5-stars. These ratings indicate how well the vehicle is likely to perform in a crash. Vehicles with 4 and 5-star rated vehicles  are the safest, while 1 and 2-star vehicles offer little protection in a crash. You are twice as likely to die or be seriously injured in a crash in a 1 or 2-star than in a 5-star vehicle.

We’re encouraging people to look for the safety rating when buying a vehicle and buy one with the highest safety rating in their price range.

In Aotearoa, a vehicle’s safety rating comes from one of three sources:

  1. ANCAP (Australasian New Car Assessment Program) assesses new vehicles based on crash tests.
  2. Used Car Safety Rating (UCSR) assesses used vehicles already in the market, based on real world data.
  3. Vehicle Safety Risk Rating (VSRR) assesses most vehicles that don’t have an ANCAP or UCSR rating.

Safety ratings can be checked at link)

For information on dealer resources, email