Skip to content

Access keys for nzta.govt.nz

  • h Home
  • m Menu
  • 0 Show list of access keys
  • 2 Skip to content
  • 3 Skip to top

Background

Like swimming, cycling is a life skill and we want all Kiwis to have the opportunity to learn to ride a bike for life. As we improve our built environment for people on bikes, and as more people start to cycle, we need to make sure they have the skills and experience required to enjoy the ride. Having the necessary skills and knowledge to use the transport system is one of the pillars of the Safe System approach. It is also part of the Transport Agency’s implementation of the Cycle Safety Action Plan.

The Transport Agency and ACC have partnered in the development of a national cycling education system, to increase the reach of cycling education in New Zealand. The system will improve quality and consistencies based on best practice, and, provide a monitoring and evaluation framework so we can assess how effective the system is at improving safety and encouraging more people to ride.   

The new national approach is based on giving people the skills they need at the right time in their life – from learning bike handling skills in primary school through to learning road rules and how to ride on-road when they are ready. Adults who haven’t ridden a bike for a while and want to brush up on their skills will also have opportunities to build their confidence.

View the National Cycling Education System fact sheet [PDF, 3.7 MB]

Read the executive summary of the National Cycling Education System detailed business case [PDF, 1.6 MB]

View the full research report Towards a safe system for cycling [PDF, 5.4 MB] – conducted by Mackie Research

View the National Cycling Education System briefing paper for regions [PDF, 471 KB]

What we’re doing

  • A best-practice, safe cycling system approach to education.

  • An agile model aligned with the school curriculum.

  • An approach that promotes cycling safety skills for all ages and abilities.

  • A system focusing on all road users.

  • A comprehensive monitoring and evaluation system.

The benefits

  • More New Zealanders develop safe road skills early in life.

  • More New Zealanders cycling.

  • More empathy on our roads.

  • Helps our kids get more active and kickstart healthier lifestyles.

  • One component in increasing active transport to school, reducing school gate congestion.

Cycling education provider

If you're looking for cycling education in your area, contact a provider below:

Area

Provider

Contact

Email 

Whangarei

Bike Northland

Stu Bell

stu.bell@bikenorthland.co.nz

Auckland

Various

Zane Bray

zane.bray@at.govt.nz

Hamilton

Hamilton City Council

Ngaire Atmore

ngaire.atmore@hcc.govt.nz

Cambridge

Cycling New Zealand 

Amy Taylor

amy.taylor@cyclingnewzealand.nz

Rotorua

Rotorua Lakes Council 

Jodie Lawson

cycling@rotorualc.nz

Tauranga/ Western BoP

Kids Can Ride/Cycle Savvy

Karen Smith 

Karen.Smith@tauranga.govt.nz 

Gisborne

Gisborne Cycle Tours

Katrina Duncan 

info@cyclegisborne.com

New Plymouth

Let's Go Programme /Events Taranaki

Nathaniel Benefield 

nathaniel.benefield@npdc.govt.nz

Napier/Hastings

 

Lyndal Johansson 

lyndalj@sporthb.net.nz

Whanganui 

Let's Go Programme 

Norman Gruebsch 

Norman.Gruebsch@whanganui.govt.nz

Palmerston North

 

Phil Stevens

phils@sportmanawatu.org.nz

Wellington

Pedal Ready

Matt Shipman 

info@pedalready.org.nz

Nelson

Ride On Nelson 

Marty Clark

rideon@sporttasman.org.nz

Blenheim

Ride On Marlborough

Braden Prideaux

braden.p@sporttasman.org.nz

Christchurch/Waimakariki/Selwyn

Cycle Safe

 

cyclesafe@ccc.govt.nz

New Zealand wide e-bike workplace fleet training

Electric Meg

Megan Paige

megan@electricmeg.co.nz

Ride Leader training nationwide

Cycling New Zealand

Amy Taylor

Amy.Taylor@cyclingnewzealand.nz

Heavy vehicle/cyclist workshops nationwide

Cycle Action Network

Richard Barter

richard@can.org.nz

Instructor training nationwide

En Velo

Marilyn Northcotte

info@envelo.co.nz

Bikes in School nationwide

Bike On Trust

Paul McArdle

info@bikeon.org.nz

Nationwide bike and e-bike lesson design, instructor development and delivery

Nextbike New Zealand

Julian Hulls

julian@nextbike.co.nz

Resources

Media release

Helping more kids learn to ride a bike for life (external link)
25 July 2017 beehive.govt.nz
Transport Minister Simon Bridges and ACC Minister Michael Woodhouse welcome an initiative for the development of a national cycling education system aimed at getting more kids riding bikes safely.

Other useful resources

View the official New Zealand code for cyclists 

View the current cycle skills training guidelines for grades 1, 2 and 3

Contact us

For further information please contact: kirsten.malpas@acc.co.nz or claire.pascoe@nzta.govt.nz

 

Top