CONTACT CENTRE WAIT TIMES: Our Contact Centre is currently experiencing significant wait times. View frequently asked questions

SCAM ALERTS: Report a phishing scam or learn about the latest phishing emails

ROAD USER CHARGES (RUC) DISCOUNT: Find out more about the temporary RUC reduction scheme

ONLINE SERVICES: We are currently experiencing issues with all our online services at the moment. We are working to resolve the services as soon as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

COVID-19 SERVICES UPDATE: Information on Waka Kotahi services, extensions and more

ONLINE SERVICES: We currently have an issue with receiving some payments and are working to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience.

EASTER WEEKEND – PLAN AHEAD: Heading away for the long weekend? Check our holiday journeys tool(external link)

SCAM ALERTS: Refund email and Vehicle licence (rego) renewal phishing emails

Regional fuel tax information

The Auckland regional fuel tax scheme began on 1 July 2018, at a rate of 10 cents per litre (plus GST) on petrol and diesel and their bio-variants. This is to support transport projects that would otherwise be delayed or not funded.

Collection and enforcement

The NZ Transport Agency administers the collection of regional fuel tax (RFT) directly from fuel distributors. RFT is paid by fuel distributors when they supply fuel within the region. This includes, but is not limited to, deliveries to service stations, fuel storage tanks, machines, marinas and vehicles.

All fuel distributors within the Auckland region provide us with a monthly tax return with details of the fuel they have delivered. We will use this information to track and monitor all fuel supplied and investigate irregularities as needed.

The Transport Agency forwards the RFT collected on to Auckland Council, less any rebates paid and a service cost.

The rules around collection, liability for tax payment and enforcement are in the Land Transport Management Act 2003 and its supporting regulations.

Find out more on the Ministry of Transport's website(external link)

What the RFT will be spent on

Auckland Council consulted with their public on their regional land transport.

For information on the transport projects to be funded by RFT, check out Auckland Transport’s website(external link)

Further information: