How to get your motorcycle licence

To become a fully licensed motorcyclist, you need to pass through the 3 stages of the driver licensing system:

  • stage 1 – learner licence
  • stage 2 – restricted licence
  • stage 3 – full licence.

You need to complete the requirements of each stage before you can move to the next.

You must pass a basic handling skills test and then a theory test before you can start stage 1 – learner licence.

Competency-based training and assessment (CBTA)

Instead of taking a practical test at the restricted and full stages of your licence, you can choose to have your riding skills assessed by an approved CBTA assessor.

Completing professional training will prepare you for the assessment and make sure you have the necessary riding skills.

If you choose the CBTA option, it can reduce the time it takes you to get your restricted and full motorcycle licence. This is the only way you can reduce the required minimum time during the learner and restricted licence stages.

Competency-based training and assessment (CBTA)

How much does it cost to get your motorcycle licence?

Application fee


Basic handling skills test

Varies 1

Learner licence


Restricted licence


Full licence


1 This fee varies between motorcycle riding instructors.

The application fee is the same whether you sit the practical tests or present a CBTA certificate. It’s free to change, cancel or rebook your test if you need to.

All fees include GST and are non-refundable.